Email spam folder problems with Outlook / Hotmail

I am having one hell of a time getting email set up. This is my first time setting up a discord server. My hosting service is Digital Ocean and I’m attempting to use mailgun as my email provider. Almost everything is working properly. I’m able to authenticate and send out emails, no problem. The problem is they are ending up in the spam folder of whomever they are sent. I have SPF record set up correctly according to MailGun, DKIM is set up correctly according to MailGun. I even have a dmarc record. PTR is configured correctly, reverse lookup resolves correctly. I’m at a loss. I’m out of free mailtester tries. Any ideas?

Have you looked at the mail header of a junkmailed message?

1 Like

I’ve looked through the mail header yes. I am either missing it, or don’t understand all of what I am seeing. It looks fine to me, then gets confusing toward the bottom. Here is the header of one of the test emails sent from my discourse server.

Edit: I deleted the header
@staff could you please delete the edit history? Thx.

1 Like

They are delivered to gmail inboxes, with no problem.

I have a feeling the problem may have to do with either or both the domain name / TLD

psilocybin - Illegal Schedule 1
.tk - commonly used by known problem domains

As you are using mailgun, do the emails fare well with the Email Spam Checker - Mailgun ?

1 Like

Yes, and they are being delivered to every other email provider I’ve tried, gmail, Comcast, etc, just not outlook servers. I did find my ip on an email blacklist due to misconfiguration, but am having difficulty getting the unlock key, even though the problem has been resolved. Seems like it’s only outlook/hotmail junking these. I’m waiting for support from mailgun.

1 Like