Guide to Setting Up Discourse Development Environment - Windows 11

Hi Everyone,

After spending some time attempting to get a working development environment up and running under Windows 11 / WSL2 I thought I would share the steps that I have followed.

This is my first post here so I hope that this is of use to somebody :slight_smile: I am a Systems Administrator used to working with Windows so this has been an interesting journey learning Linux / Ruby / Discourse etc.

A few things seem to have changed since the guide for Windows 10 was written and I ran into a few issues along the way (and from reading the comments, I wasn’t the only one!)

I can confirm that the following instructions worked on my Windows 11 Pro 22H2 install & also on my Windows Insider build of the upcoming Windows 11 23H2 Release Preview.

I’ll try to keep the instructions as short and straightforward as possible :slight_smile:

Initial Preparation

1. Check for any WSL updates and install them if applicable. From a Windows Powershell window use this command:-

wsl.exe --update

1. Install Ubuntu on WSL2 using this command:-

wsl.exe --install -d Ubuntu

1. Follow the onscreen prompts to create the username and password

2. Once you’re in the Ubuntu terminal, check for and install all applicable updates

sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade -y

1. Now that everything is updated we can proceed :slight_smile:

WSL Modifications

1. Before cloning Discourse, run the following command to open the /etc/wsl.conf file:-

sudo nano /etc/wsl.conf

1. At the bottom of the existing file, add the following , press Ctrl + X to save the changes and press “Y” when prompted.
[automount]
enabled  = true
root     = /mnt/
options  = "metadata,umask=22,fmask=11"
  1. Completely close the WSL terminal and relaunch it for these changes to properly apply.