Help! Tried to install a plugin and now my forum is missing

Hello,

We are currently having an issue with our discourse forum. I was in the process of trying to add a plugin (which I have been able to do multiple times previously without issues) and for some reason when I went to check the success of the plugin addition, the forum was missing. We have tried restoring the forum from backups both done today and from 6/8 in hopes of restoring the forum. However, no matter what we try, nothing seems to work. I was hoping that maybe you have seen this type of issue in the past and might be able to point us in the right direction as to what needs to be done to get it set back up? I have reviewed the build process and nothing really jumped out as an error…so I am not entirely sure where to look. Any help would be appreciated, I am fairly new to discourse…so I not sure what the proper protocol is at this point.

Thank-You for any help you may be able to provide.

1 Like

Hello and welcome @Bryan_Spann :slight_smile:

Using the safe mode options ([YourSite]/safe-mode) can help you pinpoint where the issue may be coming from. Also inspecting the console for errors when you try and load the site can also be quite revealing (right click, Inspect, then look at the Console tab when you refresh your page). Your /logs can often have some good information in too. :+1:

When you install a plugin and perform a ./launcher rebuild app this will also update your site to the latest version, which (if it’s not the plugin itself) can sometimes cause conflicts with any existing custom code you may have in place. Using the methods above can often help you track down exactly what is causing the issue and allow you to turn it off or tweak it as needed.

5 Likes