Installing discourse for free?

I have a spare PC which I can use as a server, host, or whatever discourse needs. It is connected to my storage server, so plenty of storage (130TB + 8tb of ssd’s in the pc itself) and has good specs, 64gb of ram, intel i9-12900k and 2x Nvidia Titan.

I just want to make a forum that I can host online through that PC, so no one needs to connect to my wifi to run it, and can just go and run it off their mobile network. Basically I previously used a whatsapp group, but it’s just getting uncategorised, so I have decided to setup a forum. I don’t want to spend money, cause why would I. It should be easy to follow since I am a beginner, and yeah some extra guides on stuff like how do I forward the ports and stuff from local to the internet to make it work online.

I have referred to other topics, but I can’t really understand.
Thanks for the help.

It’s not practically possible because you need managed email services to avoid your notifications being blocked. And they cost money.

You will need to budget at least $10 a month.

You could use a service such as Mailjet which is free.

1 Like

Can you sign up without a credit card?

Yes, it’s the recommended service for free emails which is reliable and quite generous.

3 Likes

Stand me corrected, thanks.

I wonder how long that will last?!

Mailjet has been around since 2010, seems like it’s here for a lot longer - even more so considering they were recently taken over by Sinch.

Not the company, the free product. That must lose money.

The free tier has been available since launch, if I recall correctly. Sure - it loses money, but it gains a lot of customers. If the tier has been around for so long, they must be benefiting from it one way or another.

2 Likes

There are scores of SMTP providers you can find online, and almost all of them have a free-tier which doesn’t require a credit card.