Installing over DigitalOcean and Namecheap?

Hey, this is my first time working with this and I tried to follow the 30min installation guide as much as I could but I am having issues with the DNS records since the website isn’t loading, they are most likely not correctly setup.

I got the following domain:
guidekeeper.com

Which points to the following NS:
ns1.digitalocean.com
ns2.digitalocean.com
ns3.digitalocean.com

I got the following domains on DigitalOcean:
guidekeeper.com
discourse.guidekeeper.com

and the following DNS records for both of the domains:

You are most likely not supposed to have 2 domains but to create correct DNS records which I am not familiar with.

Also, would it be possible to install Discourse on the main domain instead of subdomain, without messing up the email part? I feel like the guide is forcing you to install it over a subdomain or else the email part wont work and you will apparently “HAVE A BROKEN SITE!”, which is really confusing.

You need a DNS A record for discourse.guidekeeper.com pointing to the IP address of your server.

Nameservers are generally provided by the company that you purchased the domain name from, not Digital Ocean. So you likely want to change it using the DNS control panel at the place you purchased the domain name from.

In the event that you are using Digital Ocean’s nameservers (but why?) then you would need to change it using the DNS control panel at Digital Ocean.

3 Likes

I use Digital Ocean’s name servers for most of my sites, and my install script creates DNS records on Digital Ocean’s servers when it does an install (it doesn’t hurt anything and keeps someone else from snagging their domain). It’s convenient. And some stat I saw someone showed that they had very fast resolution times.