Is there a way to message all users, or selected groups?

Hello; I’m the new online community manager for my organization, which means I’m also new to Discourse! I’m wondering if there’s a way to message all of our users, or even just selected groups? (We currently have groups based on permissions/category they belong to.)

3 Likes

There’s the @everyone group … (which apparently here on Meta, even I can mention and generate notifications, but I won’t) …

Edit: Or maybe not … seems to be a bug in changing that setting:

That said, you should be able to do this for user-created groups as much as you want.

5 Likes

everyone is a meta group that encoumpasses logged out users as well, we should simply suppress it from the admin UI.

@jpalermo allow mods and admins to @mention/message trust_level_0 users and you can blast a message or mention to them.

But … warning, this is highly disruptive, I would probably disable the option after I blasted the “absolutely” absolutely critical message to the entire community.

A scenario where this may be worth doing is “my website was compromised, everyone, please change passwords asap”

Almost all other scenarios would be serviced just fine with banner topics or pinned topics.

7 Likes

Also be aware non-default user settings may prevent them from getting an email notification of the mention or PM.

3 Likes

We also have the global system notice which is not dismiss able and I would recommend that in this scenario.

4 Likes

None of these (otherwise fine) scenarios address people who only read specific categories by email, though, and don’t visit the web site.

1 Like

Export all user emails from admin, users, feed into mass spam email tool of your choice and have at it…

1 Like

Nah, it would seem there’s no need to pay a 3rd party service since we can use the PM system in this scenario.

3 Likes

I suggest you take care to not let saving some money cloud your decision.