[PAID] Order posts by Title

Discourse can be used as a very effective LMS. I have been using it successfully for a couple of years now. We need some to develop a stable plugin that can order and organise the Topics under a category by Title.

So instead of the Activity column or just by clicking the Topic button, the posts under that category/sub-category are organised by Title numerically / alphabetically.

I have seen other posts requesting the same feature. I also know that the Docs plugin allows for that, but it is cumbersome due to our many courses. It adds extra steps to see the posts organized by title.

1 Like

I looked into this a bit. In case anyone else[1] wants to take a crack at it, the Topic Voting plugin does allow sorting the topic list by votes. Seems like it would be relatively to use that plugin as inspiration and just sort by title.

Related topic: Order posts by Title

1. Including future me. ↩︎

4 Likes

I’d be happy to look at this for you, sending a PM.

3 Likes

Thanks to Jon for showing me a workaround.
This way I do not need to invest in a plugin.

Just have to make sure that I create the topics in the order I want them and then organis them by created date > ascending.

4 Likes

Can you share a bit about how you use it as an LMS? Is it just for storing training or also some kind of workflow for monitoring who has done it? Anything else?

Simple –

• Each category is a course
  • Each sub-category is a module
  • each topic is a lesson (which is what needs to be in chronological order)

That’s what Jon (in this thread) suggested by changing settings for each category and sub-category. Topics can be organised by the date created and in ascending/descending order.

So, to get around that, you can number the lessons and add them one after the other.

2 Likes

In the topic admin menu you can change the date and time of any topic/post to whatever you want.

1 Like