Upgrade Failure - Unable to verify certificate

A few months ago, I inherited a discourse site that we use internally, so I am pretty new to all of this. In the past, I’ve been able to upgrade smoothly via the one-click browser upgrade feature, but today it failed with the following message. Any help is appreciated!

rake aborted!
Excon::Error::Certificate: SSL_connect returned=1 errno=0 state=error: certificate verify failed (OpenSSL::SSL::SSLError) Unable to verify certificate. This may be an issue with the remote host or with Excon. Excon has certificates bundled, but these can be customized:

`Excon.defaults[:ssl_ca_path] = path_to_certs`
            `ENV['SSL_CERT_DIR'] = path_to_certs`
            `Excon.defaults[:ssl_ca_file] = path_to_file`
            `ENV['SSL_CERT_FILE'] = path_to_file'
            `Excon.defaults[:ssl_verify_callback] = callback`
                (see OpenSSL::SSL::SSLContext#verify_callback)
or:
            `Excon.defaults[:ssl_verify_peer] = false` (less secure).

The full log.pdf (376.0 KB).

Given that your hostname still resolves to your site, try:

cd /var/discourse
./launcher rebuild app

That’s a first… build log as a PDF. I’m not up for reading through that, it’s a mess. Drop it in a gist or a pastebin or something more sane, please.

2 Likes

Also, make sure you read the log – I’ve seen a few people now not bother to read the log – but just panic – take a step back and read it…it’s telling you what’s wrong.

I get the same error when I attempt to rebuild the app.

I created a gist.

The only thing that jumped out to me was the error. Am I missing something else?

A gist! A palpable gist! :tada: