Value of integrating Discourse and WordPress

Hey Tumi,

I’ll tell you. I am a Community Manager at a software vendor and am responsible for the platforms the community (at least most of it’s members) wants to use, keeping these platforms viral, cross-linked and functioning as HUBs (entry points).

On the one hand, there’s a WP installation including a blog (kind of a planet) that is stuffed by several members as well as core devs with tutorials and similar stuff. Before using WP-Discourse, I always had to announce the presence of a new blog post/tutorial manually in the boards. This is done “electrically” with WP-Discourse now - so one step less work for me in announcements. Of course, this WP installation keeps main and so called static content like a “Getting started”, a download area etc. as well.

Before using WP-Discourse, community members somehow found the WP post and started commenting on it. In WP, at least by default, only the author of this blog post and the admin get to know about this comment and had to answer it (although they might have been busy with totally different topics at this time). The other community members didn’t even notice that there’s a comment as they might have visited the post before or someat. An example:

• Blog post about a new software version (to spread the news)
  • Comment: "I cannot install it… " or "I cannot update… " because of this and that error message.

Actually, you want to have this discussion in your boards, right? Additionally, these kind of discussions appear in the boards. When using WP-Discourse, all active members of the boards not only get informed about the new blog post, they also see a new comment on it and can react, most likely in a much shorter time than author or admin of the WP blog post could have ever done.
Thanks to the seven gods and @simon, these reactions in the boards can appear as comments on the original blog post within WP.