Visual forum statistics

My old MyBB forum had a simple charting feature that showed the userbase size over time. It came in handy in this presentation I gave about the growth of the forum, where I overlaid certain events on the chart.

/admin/reports/signups is a start, but less visually compelling.

Haven’t found any plugins that display charts, but they would be a nice visual addition to the Discourse dashboard:

• users over time
  • posts and topics over time
  • attachments over time
  • top posters / most active users (bar chart) - that kind of exists at /users

Daily/Monthly Active Users can be generated with Google Analytics, but the process isn’t easy, and won’t cover any data retroactively (i.e. before installing GA), or from imported posts.

16 Likes

This would be very handy! As a Community Manager, it matters a lot to have visual analytics.

4 Likes

I’m a community manager too, and have such visual chart could be really handy,

3 Likes

A while back I started a plugin a bit like this for use on Mozilla’s Discourse instance called “Are we Discoursing yet?” (to fit in with a bit of a trend: Areweyet - MozillaWiki), the result of which can be seen at http://arewediscoursingyet.com/

I haven’t really found the time to do any more work on it recently, but the source is at: https://github.com/Mozilla-cIT/arewediscoursingyet (plugin is in plugin branch, frontend is in gh-pages branch).

At the moment it’s rather tailor made for Mozilla (and also rather badly made, it was only after I’d created it that I realised that Discourse was already creating exactly the stats I wanted…), and I doubt I’ll get round to improving it, let alone creating a general purpose plugin, anytime soon.

Of course, if somebody wants to jingle a bag of coins in front of my face that might change things.

6 Likes

I need these kind of statistics and graph:

• How many new users last months?
  • How many posts? Against previous months!?
  • How many logged in users?