Why default to converting PNG to JPG?

I fully understand (and appreciate!) that this is exposed as a site setting for administrators to toggle, but I find this “feature” to be very misguided in the first place.

There are two hugely important features of PNGs: its lossless (and readable!) representation of text and support for transparency. Both of these are important reasons to use PNGs. As a user of a discourse site, I uploaded an image (of text with transparency) to my board and was highly disappointed to see it auto-convert to a JPG. No matter, I’ll just host it elsewhere. Well, that worked great until @system came along and downloaded and converted my image and edited my post out from underneath me, breaking the transparency and making it look worse. Thankfully I’m also an admin and was able to search the web to find one of the threads below that guided me to the png to jpg quality setting that I could change.

At a minimum, it seems prudent to turn off this feature if there is transparency in the GIF.

Do folks actually like this feature on their boards? It’s been brought up twice before, both times with folks confused/frustrated that PNGs were getting converted. It seems worthwhile to reconsider this default.

3 Likes

This means the image was much smaller as a JPG. I believe there are site settings to tweak this threshold. Have a look, search through your site settings.

4 Likes

In Settings/Files, scroll down to the 3rd item from the bottom. Uncheck Strip image metadata. Just above that is the png to jpg quality. Adjust setting as necessary.

4 Likes

Yes, I totally get that this is configurable (I’ve already disabled it on my site) and I understand the motivation. I still think that the feature is misguided in the first place and that it’d make sense to change the default.

Here’s an example — PNGs are the default file format for screenshots and rightfully so. If I just take a screenshot of this window and try to upload it, it gets converted to a JPG.