Am I the only non-sysop here?

I’ve never managed a BBS. No phpBB, Discourse, none of them. All I’ve ever been is simply a regular user.

Just curious, am I the only such person here on meta.discourse.org?

You see I’ve got a lot of UX feedback to share.

You’ve come to the right place, but how in the world did you figure out this is where to find us?

It was tough but I am actually a computer science graduate myself, so did manage to figure it out.

10 Likes

I definitely read the title as “psyop” and I started questioning a lot of things :joy:

Most users are not thinking too deeply about the platforms they use. There’s no reason why they should either because they don’t really have the power to change anything about it. So of course this support site will skew toward people who do have the power to modify a discourse instance.

13 Likes

I have been SysOp for a couple of Discourse forums now for almost 6 years.

Prior was a remote SysOp on a few old Renegade DOS BBSes(Telegard Hack)

6 Likes

Why keep it that way?: careful, it’s addictive! :sweat_smile:

Before you know it you will have installed an instance out of curiosity … and leave it running!

And then you will be able to customise it (no doubt heavily) to match your taste and the site may one day become an authority on your chosen subject area.

I jest a little but I’m also serious: give it a go and join the community of the Discourse admins! Relive your computer science days and fully appreciate first hand how far computing has come. Imho it’s pretty eye opening just how easy it is now to create a sophisticated presence on the web at surprisingly reasonable cost.

11 Likes

No, you’re not.

13 Likes

Nope, you aren’t! I did have a forum that I tinkered around with but not anymore. Alas, I don’t think it should affect your experience here :slight_smile: Last time I checked Meta is for everyone :smiley:

7 Likes