Console Frozen in Digital Ocean web UI trying to update Discourse

Hi all,

I’m trying to update my Discourse site, but i’m seeing this message in Admin.

You are running an old version of the Discourse image.

Upgrades via the web UI are disabled until you run the latest image.
To do so log in to your server using SSH and run:

However, when I access the console on my DO server, it just freezes.
It never used to do this. Any idea how to fix this please?

What your mean ‘freezes’, the SSH? Why not just reboot the server.

1 Like

You are referring to the web UI for the console through Digital Ocean.

Don’t use that. Use a real native SSH tool on your computer instead, or a terminal window on your laptop, desktop, or tablet OS.

Apologies, I am not a developer. Normally I just follow the instructions given by Discourse to enter in the console, but the console now doesn’t let me.

I suggest working through this with @pfaffman as you paid him to set up the site, perhaps he can recommend tools for you as well and write a self-service walkthrough.

I think that it’s not frozen, but the password doesn’t echo (so people can’t read over your shoulder).

I’ll have a look at things when I get to the office, but if you’d reply to one of the install emails you got it would save me a few minutes.

Hey, @christian_01. I can’t tell from your username what site is yours, so if you want my help, I will need for you to email me.

Well, when you create a droplet with an SSH key, by default password logins are disabled. I offer to install an ssh key and provide instructions for enabling password logins (and do that if asked). I can’t find instructions for creating an SSH key for PuTTy that typical install customers can follow, though I have talked a few Mac users through sending me a key. This happens at most a couple times a year (1 in 50 installs?).