Discourse + web server. Possible or better to avoid?

Quick disclaimer: I’m relatively new to building a VPS environment from scratch but have enough experience with web hosting (specifically shared and managed-dedi) to have an idea what I am doing and make sense of tutorials.

That said, I’m currently using DigitalOcean’s cheapest droplet for experimentation. I’m a hobbyist, don’t expect to have a ton of traffic, and am just trying to create two instances that will offer a frontpage of some sort (likely WordPress) and an accompanying Discourse forum — one instance for game design and another for my content creator community.

I’m aware that Discourse and Apache don’t blend well together because of Discourse’s decision to use port 80 and I’m also aware that there are workarounds but there appears to be varying forms with unconfirmed results and no official “yeah this works” from Discourse.

I’m a little confused as to why such an amazing platform has been designed to be so obstructive to managing a web server alongside it but my experience with the software thus far has me interested enough to find a way to make it work. I’ve seen that a WordPress integration exists and it’s hyped on a feature page but again, Discourse seemingly isn’t designed to be anything but standalone.

Any advice or input from those who’ve run into the same predicament? Thanks!

I think this is what you’re looking for:

@neounix has some experience with running Discourse w/ apache2 so they may be able to give some pointers.

4 Likes

Is this a recommendation to switch to Nginx then? I have absolutely no experience with it and any web server I’ve ever used, preconfigured included, has used Apache.

There’s also this for Apache: How to set up Discourse on a server with existing Apache sites

However, there appears to be a large number of issues getting it to work properly, particularly with SSL.