Estimated timeline on a project?

Hi everyone! If this post breaks any rules feel free to delete.

So I’ve never worked with a discourse freelancer before, but I’m considering doing so for some improvements to my community site. I have some questions before committing one way or the other and I thought this would be a good outlet to at least get an idea of some things before getting too invested.

Currently our site is pretty bare bones, has a custom layout and colors, but besides that it pretty much resembles the basic discourse forum set up. I’d ideally like to have some more advance improvements, but I’m unfortunately no developer and would love some advice to see if what I’m looking for would even be possible within discourse and if it is, how long would you see something like this taking?

Items I’m hoping to add to my site.

• a feed of popular or hot topics
  • additional analytics tools or maybe unique dashboard data
  • fixed sidebar navigation
  • more robust gamification system (a sidebar with a leaderboard and different amount of points awarded based on different actions)

I know it might be hard to give any sort of information based on just this list without digging into my site yourself, but any sort of timeline estimate (or if you had an idea of pricing estimated you can DM that if you have an idea) that you could gather from what I’ve mentioned above would be useful. I just need a starting point in my research.

Thank you in advance for your help!

1 Like

Hey! Welcome :slight_smile:

Yes, those features are all possible. Generally speaking Discourse is highly extensible. It has server-side and client-side plugin apis and hooks, which make pretty much anything possible.