How to disable "Body seems unclear, is it a complete sentence?" checker

I’m an admin of our Discourse server, and I’m in a small group of coworkers of the “We’re all reasonable adults here” sort.

How can I disable the “Body seems unclear, is it a complete sentence?” checker? I don’t need an automated program to prevent someone from posting something, even if it looks to the Discourse software like an incomplete sentence.

3 Likes

Try setting body min entropy = 0

8 Likes

Thanks, that worked.

It would be really nice to have a more meaningful error message. (otherwise my gut response is "No, you stupid bastard server, I don’t care, this is what I wanted to post! So #@$@#% off!)

It would also be nice to be able to configure it so that it was just a warning that appeared once, and if you really wanted to post, then you could click “No, I really mean it!” and post your content anyway.

2 Likes

Are posts with less than 7 characters that common in your instance?

The idea of the message is to have the user put more thought on the post, and use enough information to keep the discourse flowing.

Of course the admin of the board can change the settings if he wants to.

2 Likes

Look, this is a technical bulletin board in my case, and when we say “x[n] = x[n] + x[n] - y[n]” (or whatever) we mean it. We don’t need a computer blocking us from posting.

I don’t mind the default behavior – although it is annoying… I just wish it were a little more flexible and obvious. The existing behavior has all the charm and helpfulness of an IQ 80 security guard.

body min entropy = 0 in app.yaml?

No, in admin/site_settings

5 Likes

Sorry to necro this thread, but I think context is important. I am posting a complete sentence of three words (total ten characters) and valid punctuation and this error is coming up. I tried setting as above. No joy. It’s very frustrating as an admin to be unable to post a perfectly legitimate sentence that meets all configured limits we have set.