Who is Discobot?

Originally published at: Who is Discobot?

As of Discourse 1.8, every new user who joins will get a welcome PM from discobot: Discobot is a natural extension of our original, static welcome PM. However, Discobot is much more than a greeter; it also offers to interactively “play” the Discourse game with each new visitor. The goal here is to teach people…

18 Likes

It’s a fun feature for sure, but the interaction from our users was negligible. Other sites may have had better results, but it appears not to fit with friendly local community forums such as my own.

As a forum admin I prefer the automated message which allows new users to reply to a human if they need help. This feature was lost when Discobot arrived.

8 Likes

I would expect interaction to be rare, the main point is to deliver the key elements in the first message:

1. Here’s how to reach a person (link)

2. You’ll be slightly restricted until we get to know you better

3. Be nice, see our guidelines (link)

That first link is to /about which is how anyone can contact a human, if they need to.

5 Likes

We did a contest around it in our forum and require it of employees and got 136 certified. Nobody self-certified without the contest.

7 Likes

My members can’t reach any person because private messaging is disabled for TL0 (a very sensible restriction).

Before Discobot, the same restriction applied to new members for general PMing, but they were able to respond by PM to the welcome message, which was very handy and direct.

The about page contains an email address, but TL0 users would not be able to contact any admins or moderators via the forum itself.

Correct, that’s the primary contact method. You need this because sometimes people aren’t able to log in at all.

The typical way this is handled is to have an email automatically feed into Discourse as a PM. For example, any emails to team@discourse.org are automatically sent as PMs to the team.