Discourse instance supporting entrepreneurs who sell on Amazon

Hi everyone! First time here.

I am a Product Manager working on supporting entrepreneurs worldwide who sell on Amazon. We have over 2M worldwide Sellers who sell products on Amazon. I am working to connect them to each other and to our business teams.

Our Discourse instance has millions of posts with hundreds of thousands of users.

Feedback or recommendations on how you would improve our Forums? I’m all ears.

6 Likes

Impressive forum! An observation about something I noticed in other forums too: when there are lots of categories with names that are more than one word, the two column layout in the hamburger menu is not ideal. I prefer a single column. The menu is something that recently changed in a newer version, maybe it’ll look better when you upgrade.

Here’s an idea (before and after):

9 Likes

Hey Danny,
Happy to help. Can you perhaps outline what your current challenges are or what you think you need to improve on? That will give us some direction for our feedback.

3 Likes

Wow! Great idea. Planning to implement. Thanks

We asked users what the biggest challenges were. If you have a few minutes, please see here for the verbatim posts. They’re more powerful than my summary!

Themes:

• Privacy
  • Voting
  • Participation from Amazon
  • Meetups
4 Likes

Here’s one that should be simple to fix - missing image:

2 Likes

Maybe not so simple. Unless there is explicit permission to use the logo icon they may issue a take down.

Could be… we had that topic not too long ago, but this forum seems to be owned by Amazon. It’s on a subdomain of amazon.com.

3 Likes

@danny_amazon Use a higher resolution logo image - it is not scaling nicely.

Screenshot%20from%202018-10-24%2009-23-54

5 Likes

Noted. Added to my next round of updates.

Replacing the value in the site settings will fix it.

What are your views on adding a “helpful” button? (such as Apple does)