Disable trust level, new user messaging and navigating the admin setting

I’m really new to Discourse and there’s a lot of options. I want new users to be the lowest level and be able to just post, reply, and start new threads. I’d like all the users to not be able to message each other. No private messages between them. I don’t want trust levels to go up based on posts or reading posts. Users should stay at the trust level they are when they join the forum and admin or mods should upgrade that trust level if necessary. All posts should be approved and nothing users post that aren’t admin or mods shouldn’t be able to be edited or deleted.

how do you get themes to show on the front end menu? I like the look much more.

How do I get main Categories to show up on the main domain of the forum instead of all new posts? I like the old school forum look.

1 Like

This is the case by default. Users start at trust level 0 with posting, replying and creating topics available to trust level 0.

You can search the settings at the top of that page, searching for “personal message” will give you what you want for this. Specifically, the setting is enable personal messages.

I don’t think you can disable trust levels entirely. However, tl4 is only available manually and tl3 can be disabled by setting the tl3 requires days visited to “101”, 1 higher than tl3 time period.

What you can also do is disable send tl1 welcome message and send tl2 promotion message, as well as adjust the other settings inside Trust Levels such that tl1 and tl2 do not confer any benefits over tl0. The ones to care about are all at the top of the Trust Levels section, besides two right at the very bottom.

In Badges, you can also find and disable the Basic and Member badges which would be awarded at tl1 and tl2. These changes should make tl0-tl2 largely invisible and have no effect on what users can do.