Hosting Plan Suggestion for 500 Concurrent Online Users

I’m Completely new to Discourse. You can say, I’m a virgin :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: at Discourse.

I’m Expecting User interactions
Max 500 Online Concurrent Users Reading Posts
Max 50 Posts/Replay Per Minute
Every Topic Contains 2Images(2MB) Average

Suggest Hosting Plans? Suitable Hardware Requirements(RAM/Processor/SSD)?

1 Like

While this may be wildly inaccurate depending upon the user behavior but in my understanding, Going a conservative route of 4 CPU Cores and at least 8 GB of RAM coupled with SSD storage (whatever you need depending upon your content requirement + 25%) should give you enough headroom.
Try to use recent version of CPU to benefit from their performance.

2 Likes

Thanks @itsbhanusharma
have you hosted any forum?
if yes
then please share your current user interactions & Hosting Plan with Hardware. & also Forum Link

I don’t have any hosted forum myself but I do have many client forums as case studies:

1. ~4000 Users (Active Simultaneous 700+) Forum runs on above given specification
  2. ~2500 Users (Active Simultaneous 250+) Forum Runs on 2 Core 4 GB
  3. ~500 Users (Active Simultaneous ~50-60) Forum Runs on 1 Core, 2 GB RAM
7 Likes

where you hosted this suggest me.
I am starting a forum for social work in India. Now I want to test this with my City Aurangabad.

If I successfully tested this concept then I Want to promote it to all Over India.
I want to start Different Discourse for every City with Subdomain Example: Aurangabad.Example.com, Delhi.Example.com - its just example I have not selected domain name yet.

1 Like

I’d suggest hosting with Digitalocean (They have a DC location in Bengaluru so good latency across India)

About your plan, I’d suggest go with a rather powerful server and set up discourse multisite to make your life easier.
And I can get involved in it for the development phase since this is a project based in India.

1 Like

What it means?